Conference Organizing Committee

Contemplative Practices for 21st Century Higher Education

Douglas K. Lindner (Chair)
Associate Professor, Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Virginia Tech

Mark Thurston (Co-Chair)
Director of Educational Programs
Center for the Advancement of Well-Being
George Mason University

Richard S. Bowles III
Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer for Merck & Co., Inc., (retired)

Stephanie Briggs
Assistant Professor, English
School of Liberal Arts
The Community College of Baltimore County

Alan Forrest
Professor, Counselor Education
Radford University

David Germano
Professor, Department of Religious Studies
Director of the Contemplative Sciences Center
University of Virginia

Oliver W. Hill, Jr.
Executive Director, VSU Research Foundation
Professor, Department of Psychology
Virginia State University

Renee A. Hill
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Dept. of History and Philosophy
Virginia State University

Robert Kramer
Senior Leadership Consultant
Institute for the Arts and Humanities
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Robin Majeski
Clinical Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Management of Aging Services Internship Program
University of Maryland at Baltimore County

Marsha Mays-Bernard
Associate Vice-President, Multicultural Awareness and Student Health
James Madison University

Robin Sansing
Clinical Instructor
Tate Turner Kuralt, School of Social Work
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Juliet Trail
Managing Director
Contemplative Sciences Center
University of Virginia

Susanna Williams
Faculty and Research Scientist, UVa Mindfulness Center
Center for Appreciative Practice
School of Medicine
University of Virginia